: Dances to a Black Pipe - Fröst, Tognetti, ACO

Image 1

Product Details

Dances to a Black Pipe
Martin Fröst, Australian Chamber Orchestra, Richard Tognetti
Online Price:

This item is currently out of stock.

Please contact us if you wish to place an order for this item.

Catalogue Number: BISSACD1863

Product Description

Martin Fröst’s latest releases have featured core repertoire for his instrument from the 18th and 19th centuries, and most recently a disc of his wide-ranging encores. All of these offerings have been singularly well received by reviewers and record buyers alike, and have contributed to Fröst’s flourishing concert career.

On this disc, accompanied by the Australian Chamber Orchestra under Richard Tognetti, Fröst presents a wide-ranging selection of works all connected with dancing. The principal work on this disc is Copland’s Clarinet Concerto, and with special permission from the Copland Fund, the disc ends with the fireworks of the original and later revised, dazzling ending of the Concerto.

Fröst also includes on this disc works by Lutoslawski, Anders Hillborg and Piazzolla, as well as an arrangement of Brahms’ Four Hungarian Dances arranged by his brother, Göran.

“His virtuosity lies in his exceptional dexterity and agility…and in his daring control of the instrument’s dynamic and expressive extremes.” The Times


Hungarian Dance No. 1 in G minor

arr. Göran Fröst

Hungarian Dance No. 13 in D major

arr. Göran Fröst

Hungarian Dance No. 21 in E minor

arr. Göran Fröst

Hungarian Dance No. 12 in D minor

arr. Göran Fröst


Clarinet Concerto

the disc also includes the original, unpublished ending of the concerto

Fröst, G:

Klezmer Dances


Clarinet Concerto (Peacock Tales)

chamber version for clarinet solo, piano and strings


Dancing with Silent Purpose


Dance Preludes

2nd version



Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Search this site

Advanced Search

Gift Vouchers